Author Topic: Mulberry advice  (Read 3184 times)

Offline Mark Anderson

• Mark Anderson Buckie, Scotland
Mulberry advice
« on: February 04, 2011, 02:10:03 pm »
I cut a six inch dia. branch of a red mulberry this past July and sealed the ends and left it in the rafters of my shed 'till this week. With all the snow and ice I had some time to get into it. After examining it awhile (and for the past seven months) I finally figured where i could try to get it to split. I got this stave pictured and possibly two more.
Chased a  few rings and decided to leave one ring of sapwood on the back.

Question; I've never worked with mulberry before so I need some advice on dimensions. I have it worked down to 1 3/4" at the fades and a gradual taper to 3/4" tips, maybe around a half inch thick through most of the limbs. It had about five inches of backset which increased to seven in two days sitting under my couch where a furnace vent is (my wife saw me do it and approved).
I now have it clamped to a board to try to keep it around five inches or so.
It is 66" t to t. Still cant even begin to bend it.
I've also never worked with osage yet so using it to compare with wont work for me.
Here are some pictures, so what would you guys do with it from here?
Thanks
Mark
"Mommy some guys just don't know how to shoot REAL bows so they have to buy them, probably at Walmart and they have wheels on them."  Caedmon Anderson (4yrs)

Offline bubby

Re: Mulberry advice
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 07:36:55 pm »
I haven't used it but saw a post a while back and I think  the consenses was make it just a little wider than Osage, you can prolly find the post, think it was in the last week or so
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2011, 07:44:15 pm »