Author Topic: Osage #4 Photo-essay  (Read 1693 times)

Offline Scrub_buck

Osage #4 Photo-essay
« on: January 16, 2011, 03:17:02 pm »
Have been working (slowly) on my 4th osage attempt.  I'm still pretty new at the game and have been learning some as I go along.  The following pics are my progress... please feel free to chime with your thoughts.

Started off with a fairly knotty piece of Osage I cut from a friend's place last Feb.  Quatered the log when I got it home and let it naturally dry in my garage all summer.  Looking for a simple flatbow design I laid it off and went to work taking off the excess material in November.

Offline Scrub_buck

Re: Osage #4 Photo-essay
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 03:17:59 pm »
This knot particualrly worried me being so big and nearly mid limb.

Offline Scrub_buck

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 03:20:29 pm »
Couldn't stand it in late Dec .. and went ahead and floor tillered it and put her up on the rack to see how she looked with a long string on her.  I guess I was thinking that big knot was going to blow, and the sooner it did it the less heartache I'd experience.

The stave really was probably not quite as dry as you'd want it to be, and it took a little set, but not as much as you'd think just for garage drying for 9 months.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2011, 03:40:27 pm by Scrub_buck »

Offline Scrub_buck

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2011, 03:24:38 pm »
In an attempt to correct the prop twist and try to fix the string alignment, I went ahead and decided to steam the whole bow and clamp her to my simple form. 

The limbs easily took the backset, and some of the prop twist was eliminated, however, I didn't get the limbs straightened as much as I'd like.  The string falls on the left edge of the handle and althought that is probably not a terrible thing since I shoot right handed, it still needs to slide back into the center some.  I guess I'll try to fix that with dry heat a little later.

Offline Scrub_buck