Author Topic: Some questions about black locust.  (Read 3646 times)

Offline tetaxidermy

Some questions about black locust.
« on: January 07, 2011, 03:39:38 am »
I've been eyeballing this tree for two years, it is a good sized black locust tree, at least I think is BL, about 18"- 20" across. My question where the thorns are I would imagine there would clusters of knots, do you try to split staves from in between the thorn clusters or work them into the bow like pin knots in osage? Never worked with BL before, what type of bow is it best suited to? I'll try to get some pics tomorrow before I cut it down.
"Andy Dufresne: Get busy living, or get busy dying."
The Shawshank Redemption

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: Some questions about black locust.
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 06:11:46 am »
If it has thornes on the trunk it is probably honey locus,Black don't have them on the trunk.Could we see a picture ?  :)   
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Cacatch

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 09:40:43 am »
Yep, what Pappy said. Sounds like you're talking about Honey Locust, which is not at all like Black Locust as far as bowmaking goes.

CP

Offline hook

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2011, 10:55:29 am »
cacatch,
how so? what do you have to do different? I had read somewhere is was not as good as the black but don't know why.

Cacatch

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2011, 11:05:14 am »