Author Topic: Stave for Christmas Exchange  (Read 12785 times)

Offline broketooth

Re: Stave for Christmas Exchange
« Reply #45 on: December 14, 2010, 07:59:20 am »
ive been watching you build this bow clsely mr pat. ive been curiousabout your form that you use to heat in reflex. what you made it of, pine 2x4, spruce ,some type of hardwood like oak perhaps? ive also been curious about the elyptical shape, how did you arrive on that shape? im a carpenter , and know how to make an elipse by using a mathimatical formula. does this work for bows or is it different. or did you just eyeball it? ive also been wondering when you use oil on the limbs, do you just apply the oil on the belly side or on all sides? do you use the tin foil over the form as a sheild to keep oil from dripping on your form? just been very curious!!! ruddy

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #46 on: December 14, 2010, 10:13:13 am »
Ruddy, My forms are made from whatever scrap I have laying around. Nothing special. The one form I use to add backest to each limb at a time is actually tiger stripe maple. It was a scrap from a Showcase my friend made for me to display Native American artifacts. The shape was accidental but works very well.  ;D
  When I use oil I use it on the belly and sides only. I never try to heat the back if I can help it. All of my forms have oil in and on them. Doesn't seem to hurt anything. I sometimes use alum foil to hold in heat on difficult bending projects when extra heating is needed but not to protect the form.
  As far as the eliptical shape, I eyeball it. It is the shape that is most attractive to my eye. Math was never my strong suit!  ;D  You can see how I brought the limb bend right up to the handle. I work that portion of the limb last after the rest of the limb is bending well.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #47 on: December 16, 2010, 02:02:22 pm »