Author Topic: thinking of making my own bow......  (Read 3469 times)

Offline archerforlife2

thinking of making my own bow......
« on: December 01, 2010, 11:50:54 am »
hey everyone i have never built a bow before and thought it would be cool to build my own can anyone give me some tips and what kind of wood to use and were i can get it for something other than a small fortune???? any tips will be appreciated thanks.
Everbody dies but not everybody lives

Offline ohma

Re: thinking of making my own bow......
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2010, 01:00:39 pm »
my advice would be to first buy volume 1 boyers bible.and then go from there.plenty of help to be had here, but some time with the book will go a long way. good luck and enjoy your journey.
if your not dead you are getting older so get out and shoot some arrows.

Offline HoBow

• The choices we make dictate the lives we lead.
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2010, 01:01:40 pm »
1X2 red oak board from Home depot works great!
Jeff Utley- Atlanta GA

Offline Shoeman

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2010, 01:08:06 pm »
my advice would be to first buy volume 1 boyers bible.and then go from there.plenty of help to be had here, but some time with the book will go a long way. good luck and enjoy your journey.

Too true!   I was able to find vol 1 and 2 at my local library, and they were a huge help.  Just having finished my first bow, I can add that you need to understand how terribly important the grain of the wood is.  Study all the info on it you can, and be really selective on the board you pick.   My first effort broke early in the process because I was not as knowledgeable as I needed to be.
It's very satisfying though, give it a try!

Online Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2010, 06:42:22 pm »
Just go for it, you will learn so much with your first attempt, even if it's doesn't work.
All the reading will make much more sense once you've had a go.