Author Topic: Osage...twist in handle...ideas?  (Read 3707 times)

Offline Catahoula

Osage...twist in handle...ideas?
« on: October 27, 2010, 05:13:44 pm »
Hi,

This osage is a rascal.  When I tillered it it didn't show any twist in the handle...now it does.  It lifted a splinter and is backed with deer rawhide.  The twist is to the point it is throwing the arrows off so I gotta fix her or...  Any ideas?  I haven't run into this before.  As you can tell I am still learning and got a long way to go. 

Rand

[attachment deleted by admin]
“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”― Mae West

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Osage...twist in handle...ideas?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2010, 05:36:09 pm »
You're holding the damned thing upside down!  ::)
 Rand, the twist in the handle will be hard to fix unless you add more wood around it and reshape the whole handle. You can adjust the arrow pass so it is lined up with the limbs and that might help.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2010, 05:36:41 pm »
I don't see a twist? What are the arrows doing? Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline George Tsoukalas

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2010, 05:38:20 pm »
Are you saying the string is off center? Jawge
Set Happens!

Offline artcher1

« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2010, 06:07:33 pm »
That twist in or near the handle really causes a lot of arrow flight problems as you've discovered. That creates limb twist as the bow is drawn/released and makes good arrow flight near impossible. If your bow is finished then consider cutting in a shelf and that should help some. Radius or rounded bellies of the limbs help eliminate some twist also in my personal opinion.