Author Topic: osage in wa?????  (Read 2061 times)

Offline Gonzo98

osage in wa?????
« on: October 16, 2010, 09:54:27 pm »
I'm a truck driver and came across two osage trees today. Now I know what the look like, I'm from Texas, is that possible? ???

Offline Gonzo98

Re: osage in wa?????
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 01:27:08 am »
Since this area is wetter then Texas, do you think the rings would be thicker? ???

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 12:45:06 pm »
I don't understand your question.   If you wanted to grow osage in Oregon it would probably work fine. Oregon(at least west of the Cascades) has a climate that is agreeable with many types of trees. That is why there are lots of ormnamental tree farms in that part of Oregon.
   The amount of moisture or lack of it doesn't necessarily have an effect on ring thickness. I have seen two osage trees growing next to each other that had totally different ring thicknesses. Genetics plays a role in it also.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Gonzo98

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2010, 04:28:56 pm »
I don't want to grow there are trees growing in Washington.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2010, 05:34:20 pm »
I know they grow in Texas!
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2010, 03:14:30 pm »
I don't understand your question.   If you wanted to grow osage in Oregon it would probably work fine. Oregon(at least west of the Cascades) has a climate that is agreeable with many types of trees. That is why there are lots of ormnamental tree farms in that part of Oregon.
   The amount of moisture or lack of it doesn't necessarily have an effect on ring thickness. I have seen two osage trees growing next to each other that had totally different ring thicknesses. Genetics plays a role in it also.