Author Topic: Anyone worked with Persimmon?  (Read 8337 times)

Offline tarsus

Anyone worked with Persimmon?
« on: April 25, 2007, 11:38:17 pm »
We are moving, they are dozing.  This tree is about an eight inch diameter at the base, and has provided in many ways in the last four years!  Should I cut (before they do) or not?  I have killed deer under this tree before, and my children have enjoyed picking the fruit.  Would love to make an arrow flinger out of it, but still very VERY new to this.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,

David
"I practice falconry, the ancient art of throwing angry pointy birds at things."    Larry Dixon

David
Louisville, Ky

Offline Auggie

• redneck engineer
Re: Anyone worked with Persimmon?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2007, 11:53:26 pm »
Hey go for it! Im still kinda new at this and learning. Have worked with oak and osage just started working a piece of persimmon.  To me it is just as hard as osage but I like the grain. 8inches you could get a couple of staves or more easy. Nothing ventured nothing gained. A little sweat for a stave is better than buying one anyday. Just dont split any osage in july.  Auggie
laugh. its good for ya

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2007, 12:17:18 am »
Persimmon will make a good bow. I don't know from experience but from other folks. If I could find a persimmon tree that didn't spiral I'd try it. Look at the bark of this tree and if you can see a spiral pattern to it.  It's possible but lots more work.    I personally would cut and split it just out of curiosity. If nothing else use some of it for handle risers or knife scales. It is pretty wood. It might make good billets for knapping too.   Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Anvildawg

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2007, 12:16:21 pm »
I am working on my first bow and it is Persimmon. If you get the wood be sure to treat it with an insecticide. Bugs love it!