Author Topic: finding rock in michigan?  (Read 2073 times)

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
finding rock in michigan?
« on: December 06, 2010, 08:15:08 pm »
Does anybody know where to find some flint in michigan? I live on the west side of the state, but would be willing to travel to dig some up. I'm a rookie knapper, and ordering it is getting to be expensive, especially when the majority of it ends up waste. :-[ Like I said I'm a rookie, but no worries, I won't stop practicing. 
Rockford, MI

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: finding rock in michigan?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 08:59:40 pm »
 I think you need to come up with some trade goods and post in the Trade section. :-\ I'd send you some but I'm getting kinda lite on inventory.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline arappaho

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2010, 09:22:00 pm »
Yeah, dave, what mullet said would be a good idea for you since good material is hard to come by
in Michigan. Your best bet to quarry your own would probably be a trip down to Flint Ridge in Ohio.

Here's a link to an article with some info about Michigan quarries. You want to read pages 74 & 75.
http://books.google.com/books?id=f_I8AAAAIAAJ&pg=PA74&lpg=PA74&dq=Lithic+material+of+Michigan&source=bl&ots=0s8QE3Af-l&sig=bemwTPYUrsH4NOuy8CduxvvlwLg&hl=en&ei=9X79TJHBBoKBOr7D4NQK&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&sqi=2&ved=0CBMQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=Lithic%20material%20of%20Michigan&f=false

Dang! That's a long link! I hope it works.

Joe

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2010, 10:06:59 pm »
Thanks for the info guys!! Putting something up for trade was my next plan. I'll be sure to check out that link.
Rockford, MI

Offline Sparrow

• Who shot cock robin ? I said the sparrow.
    • Dream Fish Charters
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2010, 10:53:41 pm »
Link Works !  '  Frank
Frank (The Sparrow) Pataha, Washington

Offline JEB