Author Topic: Applying tung oil  (Read 8002 times)

Offline Steve Milbocker

Applying tung oil
« on: August 23, 2010, 10:29:14 pm »
I have never used tung oil before and the research I did seems to come up with a lot of different ways to apply it. The directions on the can simply says to wipe it on and let it stand for 5-10 min then buff it off. Will buffing it off after each application still build into that glass like look?
I'm no where near as smart as my phone!

Offline sailordad

Re: Applying tung oil
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 10:54:00 pm »
steve all thats all i use except for the ocaasional primitive finish of beeswax
wipe on the first two coats like waxin a car,the let it dry to the touch (each coat)
then the next (however many you like,i use atleast 2 more coats)
just apply liberaly and let dry to the touch again
if you dont want the nice furniture finish,or glass like as you put it,then just lightly buff the last 2 coats
with a quick wipe of xxxx steel wool  ;)
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline Thwackaddict

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 01:53:02 am »
Yea, what him say to he! Love the tung !Good finish :)
Hello everyone.My name is Randy and I am addicted to THWACK!!

Southwest,VA

Offline Steve Milbocker

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 07:57:54 am »
Thank you sir. I'll be applying the third coat tonight.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 04:07:34 pm »
Despite the name don't apply it with your tongue :o ::).
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Grunt

« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2010, 09:44:11 pm »
Make sure to allow adequate drying time between coats. Double the time it says on the can.  If you don't, you can case harden the finish and create a sticky mess that takes weeks to dry. 

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows