Author Topic: tillering first bow and have some ??  (Read 2376 times)

Offline uncleduck

• Dave W
tillering first bow and have some ??
« on: August 22, 2010, 05:08:59 pm »
this is my first attempt at making a bow. after laying out the bow and getting it floor tillered this is how it looked:

at that point it was suggested that I heat and bend the deflexed limb to try and match the other one. After heating and bending it, the limb was completely horizontal with no reflex or deflex(not what i intended but that was the result)
now after I have begun tillering the bow starting with a long string and then switching to an actual bowstring of proper length the limb that I previously heated and bent has returned to its original position. When braced the bow looks out of balance but when drawn it seems to even itself out. Did I do something wrong here?? any help would be appreciated.
braced:

drawn:

unstung now:
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 05:42:25 pm by uncleduck »

Offline tombo

Re: tillering first bow and have some ??
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 05:20:38 pm »
Uncleduck, nothing really wrong with the tiller. I'd like to see some other angles. The handle is too long for my likings. There's no need for a long hand-hold it just takes away from more usable limb area. You're bending a bit strong in the base, I'd rather see some smoother lines.
Good job anyway....what wood is it? Tom

Offline uncleduck

• Dave W
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 05:39:16 pm »
its osage and i got the dimensions from boywers bible for their osage flat bow design

half eye

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 05:59:40 pm »
The full draw kinda says it all, looks good enough to be a long lived bow. Considering the beginning stave it dont look to this old man that you did anything wrong. Think I'd make the left limb (in the picks) the bottom limb, and go shoot the stuffin out of it.
rich

Offline uncleduck

• Dave W
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2010, 06:43:48 pm »