Author Topic: Newbie needs help  (Read 1793 times)

bloodfang34

Newbie needs help
« on: August 09, 2010, 03:09:14 pm »
Hello Everyone,
   I have been putting this off for a long time as I am a newbie and technologically handicapped. I have subscribed to PA for a few years. I just haven’t gotten around to building a bow (back to back deployments), but I have knocked out a few obsidian points and made one arrow; just tinkering as I find the time. I would like to make all my own gear and use it, just to challenge myself. I don’t consider myself a survivalist; I just have an affinity for history and self reliance.
   I live in Northern California (don’t hold it against me). I am wondering what bow woods and arrow materials that I could harvest and cure here in the north coastal range. I live at about 2500ft+ if it matters. Sadly, the local tribes have not been very helpful, or just don’t remember the skills, in identifying bow and arrow wood. The local obsidian is full of bubbles and ash pits that make it worthless. I was able to find out that the local tribes traded for useable stone for points.
   I am interested in a local bush that is probably not well known. It is called Manzanita, Spanish for little apple. It has short thick leathery oval leaves, and thin smooth deep red skin like bark that curls and peels off as it grows. The fruit looks like little 1/2” green apples. It has a reputation for dulling saws but producing a hot fire. It’s a gnarly twisted bush with dense wood. Because of the ban on controlled burns it grows thick and tall in places. I might be able to get a few staves straight enough to work with. Anyone know of or have experience with it?
   I’ve got the Bowyers Bibles and think that they have the info I need. I just wondered if anyone had ideas on materials local to my area.