Author Topic: Splinter advice needed  (Read 2493 times)

Offline Sanford

Splinter advice needed
« on: July 26, 2010, 05:00:35 pm »
Hey guys, thought I'd put this here to maybe draw more viewers. I have a builda along going and got a bamboo splinter, just wanted some advice ont hat, you can check out the buildalong and pics here

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,20563.0.html

Thanks guys!
I am the captain of my fate, I am the master of my soul...

Offline Thwackaddict

Re: Splinter advice needed
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 06:58:51 am »
I'm no expert,jus my 2cents,if you get mid limb bending more it will take some stress off da limbs where that splinter lifted.If you sanded nodes not sure if it will hold up to 75# regardless.As for the f-word,If you get to much material on the back and over power the belly looks to me the belly will fail.If it was me and i'm good at fixin mistakes becuz I'm hard headed and Have to see!!I would rip that boo off and put another piece on if you got it.Thats jus me.Great lookin bow and cant wait to see the end results.
Hello everyone.My name is Randy and I am addicted to THWACK!!

Southwest,VA

Online Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 07:33:28 am »
No expert either but I would super glue it down and rap it with a thread or sinew rap and hope the others didn't do the same thing. I did that on one a guy gave me and that was several years ago,it is still holding,of course it wasn't nearly as heavy weight.  :)

Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline J05H

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 09:09:08 am »
Although I've yet to do a laminate, I think if I were in your situation I would glue it down with a good gap filler like Urac, lower the weight some, then wrap both ends of the splinter.  This way you've addressed the splinter you already have as well as the possibility of more lifting in the future.