Author Topic: Bow Strings - When to Change?  (Read 2591 times)

Offline dmassphoto

Bow Strings - When to Change?
« on: April 16, 2010, 01:56:47 am »
Hi all,
  Of course I'm a newbie and this may be a dumb question, but just wondering how often you change your strings out?  I've had my new bow for about a week and a half now, and probably put a couple hundred arrows through it, and I'm noticing some slight frays around the loops.  Should I be concerned?  Is there anything I need to do with the string or the bow if this does turn out to be a problem?  Below is an image of the string.  I've color-coded the arrows to help in responses.  You should be able to click on the pic to get a bigger view.  I'm probably most worried about the fray that the green arrow is pointing to.

Offline oneeye

Re: Bow Strings - When to Change?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 02:27:15 am »
Cut that little blue strand off and put some wax on that. your nock might be rubbin it a little at that green mark. some of my strings look shredded compared to that.  Good string should last quite a while,unless you cut it.

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2010, 02:35:00 am »