Author Topic: first day shooting red oak board bow  (Read 4907 times)

Offline Orkraider

first day shooting red oak board bow
« on: March 25, 2010, 07:47:53 am »
Hi all. I said I'd have more pics of my bow when it was done, so here goes.

I've mentioned it before, but just in case, it's 72" long, pulls 70# at 28" draw, 1 1/2" wide and 5/8 thick at the fades, down to 3/8 each way at the tips. It's backed with linen, and another piece of thin fabric with a pattern that was meant to be decorative, but got 90% lost in the finish, lol. Coated with a brush on polyurethane / stain combo. Wrap is black leather from a salvaged purse.

So far, it shoots like a dream. I took it out to the archery range and shot for 3 hours. I'm still learning the whole instinctive shooting thing, but at 15, then 20, then 25 yards, I was managing to get most of my arrows on the paper target (that was a big deal for me, lol). As I was just getting ready to leave for the day, I walked off to 70 yards just for jollys, to see if I could hit the target; I had to "walk" my arrows up to it, but the last one hit just a few inches from center. (I'm claiming luck here, not skill, just to be clear)

I met a very nice couple that day, they were shooting nifty compound bows; I let them try mine, they let me try theirs, and they were kind enough to take pictures of me. They've said that they might be interested in making a bow or 2 themselves.

Here's the pics, and thanks again to all the help on here; I can't wait to get started on my next bow, and I'll be counting on all the advice from y'all to do it. =) Riley, in Saint Paul MN

below: nocking an arrow

below: taking aim

below: the full draw pic
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 07:51:52 am by Orkraider »
Riley, Saint Paul, MN

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: first day shooting red oak board bow
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 07:59:02 am »