Author Topic: What did I do wrong???  (Read 4119 times)

Offline osage outlaw

What did I do wrong???
« on: March 23, 2010, 09:52:15 pm »
My sinew backing started to pull loose from the bow that I am working on.  This is my first attempt at using sinew.  The bow is a 60" osage selfbow.  I used knox gelatin for the glue.  I think that I didn't degrease the bow enough.  I used veg. oil while heating it.  I wiped it down several times with a rag soaked in acetone before putting the sinew on.  I tried to save it by wrapping it with some back pieces, but it kept coming loose in other areas.  I went ahead and cut it on the handle and peeled the sinew off.  It came off pretty easy.  The glue held the sinew together, just didn't hold it to the bow.  I want to sand it down and try again, so any advice or help would be great.

Here is how it was pulling loose

Here is the underside of the sinew layer

Here is the back of the bow.

I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline yazoo

Re: What did I do wrong???
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 10:17:56 pm »
I think the oil penetrated the wood a little,,when you degreased the back,,some more oil came to the surface,,you must make sure that you keep a layer or two of shellac on the bow to prevent oil from soaking in or dont use oil when you plan on sinew backing,,,mike
if you can shoot over them , they ain't to far

Offline sonny

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 10:45:09 pm »
did you size the back with two or three or four (not kidding) thin coats of glue before you applied the sinew ??
I learned that lesson the hard way several years ago when I applied sinew to a buddy's bow and it subsequently pulled free.
now I know better.

moral of the story- the back of the bow should be shiny with glue before attempting to sinew back it..........
Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent