Author Topic: self field points  (Read 2986 times)

Offline Lee Lobbestael

self field points
« on: March 14, 2010, 03:12:41 pm »
hey guys i'm new at making bamboo arrows. I was just wondering what some of you folks use for target points? I would like it to be over 150 grains if possible. I have heard of folks using double headed nails but seems like it might make the arrow stiffer by feeding the majority of the nail into the bamboo. Any suggestions?

Offline Little John

Re: self field points
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 03:35:38 pm »
Here is what I like to use for bamboo. It is based off of a 16 penny nail but shoots and looks good. Braze a glob of brass onto dead of nail and grind to shape while spinning with electric drill. About 125 grains.

[attachment deleted by admin]
May all of your moments afield with bow in hand please and satisfy you.            G. Fred Asbell

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 03:48:42 pm »
I use Kenneth's(Little John) nail points(above) in my cane arrows and love them. Most of the flexing of the arrow is in the center so the nock and point end don't bend and the nail has no ill effects.   You can also taper the point end to accept glue on field points or use screw in field points by drilling the opening big enough to accept the threaded shank. I would add a wrap behind the point if you use the screw in field points or the nails to strengthen the end of the cane.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline aero86

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2010, 09:38:28 pm »
pat, i have yet to need to wrap any of my arrows behind the field points i have made, and they have split or come out yet..
profsaffel  "clogs like the devil" I always figured Lucifer to be more of a disco kind of guy.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2010, 12:23:10 am »