Author Topic: pinch grip or 3 fingers  (Read 9667 times)

Offline Crash

pinch grip or 3 fingers
« on: February 28, 2010, 01:58:54 am »
Was meandering through posts and noticed people mentioning both ways to shoot. Are there advantages to shooting a pinch grip like the Native Americans?
I know everything, just not all at the same time...

Offline aznboi3644

Re: pinch grip or 3 fingers
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2010, 03:01:23 am »
I started shooting with a pinch grip and the two finger pinch grip works for me for 40lbs and under while above that I have to use the three finger pinch grip.

for flight shooting I use the regular two under one over grip.

Offline kylerprochaska

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 03:59:27 am »
I find three under more accurate than anything
GBR!

HatchA

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2010, 11:07:50 am »
I find three under more accurate than anything

I've heard that said by a lot of archers too.  Some have shot for years in the split-fingered style, then tried three-under and their accuracy has improved immensely.  Never tried it, personally (...yet ;)) but if it works, all the better :)

Does the bow need to be "set up" for split or three under shooting?  What I mean is, does the nocking point need to move slightly or does one limb need to be more positively tillered because of the change in pulling fulcrum on the string?  (not sure if I explained that properly  :-\)

Offline Bent Rig

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2010, 12:02:34 pm »
Kyle are you shooting 3 fingers under instinctively or are you using the "barreling" technique by sighting down the arrow ?
Syracuse , NY------------"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"
                                                                                     - Benjamin Franklin

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2010, 12:11:54 pm »