Author Topic: Question about rosewood...  (Read 4904 times)

HatchA

Question about rosewood...
« on: February 27, 2010, 10:49:24 am »
Hi guys, I'm wondering if any of you have experience with using rosewood to make a bow?

I've an idea for a friend/mentor of mine and I'm wondering if rosewood is any good for bow-wood.

Thanks for any help or advice with this,

Steve.

Offline CraigMBeckett

Re: Question about rosewood...
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2010, 08:22:40 pm »
I have no experience with either but just have to ask if you are talking of the wood from a rose (flower) shrub/bush/tree or rosewood the beautiful dense, expensive dark redish wood?

Craig.

HatchA

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2010, 10:45:36 pm »
Craig, I'm talking about Rosewood - the tree.  The wood luthiers use for guitars/fretboards and that fine furniture is made from.

Offline Badger

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2010, 11:01:07 pm »
The first few bows that I made were from Rosewood backed with maple. It was so long ago and I knew absolutely nothng about what I was doing so I couldn't really offer much opinion except that it worked and the bow seemed to shoot well. Beautiful wood. I also used fiberglass fabric over the maple backing so not truely primitive. Steve

Offline tombo

« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2010, 11:26:18 pm »
Good tropical Rosewood's gonna' cost you! If you have a cheap supply, good on you!
I have some small pieces of 65 year-old rosewood from Guatemala that I use for nock overlays...Tom

Offline PatM

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2010, 12:41:52 am »
There are many types of "Dalbergia" Rosewood. Honduras, Kingwood, Tulipwood etc.
 Check out the Wki list. Most of the readily available types are good belly woods.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalbergia

Offline CraigMBeckett

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2010, 12:55:07 am »
PatM

Thanks for the link.

HatchA

Mate I envy you if you have a piece you can use for a bow.

Badger,