Author Topic: looking for TBB4 bow speed confirmations???  (Read 2504 times)

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
looking for TBB4 bow speed confirmations???
« on: February 20, 2010, 06:49:07 pm »
I may not be an expert bowyer yet, but I've made a few bows. I have even managed to make a few with virtually no set, that are under the mass recommended in the bowyers bible 4, according to the 'mass principle'. I,ve checked the MC, made light tips, used good quality materials, but still cant acheive the speeds they are claiming ??? I was wondering if other bowyers where able to acheive these kind of speeds?? I'm confused as to what I'm doing wrong? Any ideas anyone. Maybe there is a trick to shooting through the chrono?, I'm new to chronos. I tried to draw and release real fast through the chrono today and bounced an arrow off the edge of the machine and broke the neigbours window :o, luckily he was quite understanding :), I just have to fix it and very luckily my chrono was ok. Also its very damp here, could this seriously affect arrow speed??? Any suggestions gratefully recieved. I would be very interested to here what speeds others are managing with their bows
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 06:54:50 pm by dragonman »
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows
Re: looking for TBB4 bow speed confirmations???
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 09:34:58 pm »
The only suggestion I can give you is that if you are shooting in a populated area you should angle your chrono down so that the arrow will only travel a few feet.  That way if you do have a problem the arrow will not go far.

What kind of arrow speed are you getting?  Also perhaps you can quantify your equipment, draw weight @ draw length, arrow weight
Home of heat-treating, Corbeil, On.  Canada

Marc@Ironwoodbowyer.com

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker