Author Topic: 50 inch sinw backed osage Pic for real this time  (Read 2942 times)

Offline jturner

50 inch sinw backed osage Pic for real this time
« on: February 14, 2010, 01:32:55 am »
This is a bow ive been waiting on the sinew to dry, It has about 2 inches of set after unstringing but goes back to flat after 10 minutes. about 60+lbs @ 28 inches. thinkin about putting rawhide over the sinew but havent decided yet. This is my first attempt at posting pics we'll see if it works.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 14, 2010, 02:10:40 am by jturner »
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline jturner

Re: 50 inch sinw backed osage Pic for real this time
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2010, 02:34:16 am »
Just trying to figure out how to post pics. Its 1.5 inches w to mid limb tapers to 5/8 tips 50 inches ntn  i havent retillered it since the sinew.
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2010, 02:38:41 am »
It looks pretty cool like it is but if it was mine I think I would try and make that handle area smaller to give the bow more working limb... You don't need that much riser and with the bow only being 50 inches long you need all the working limb you can get, sinew backed or not.
 just my 2 cents...   :)  -josh
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2010, 02:41:42 am »
                               Dang Josh...for an Alabama Boy...You think just like a Yooper........ ;D.......

That Handle is too large...wasted Limb that could be bending...make you Handles abou 4 1/2" Long...with near 2" Fades at each end...should be plenty...Like Jsh said...that short a Bow...needs all the Limb working that can possibl be working....JMO