Author Topic: HELP !!!! - Tru Oil on My New Ipe WON'T DRY !!!???  (Read 16288 times)

Offline barebo

Re: HELP !!!! - Tru Oil on My New Ipe WON'T DRY !!!???
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2010, 02:21:03 pm »
In retrospect, i'm wondering if the fact that I used a standard Minwax stain has anything to do with it?? I generally use a Feibings alcohol leather dye, but have only a very dark Mahagony. I wanted to keep the light / dark contrast. Is shellac a good finish by itself??
I have no experience with it at all. Again, I thank everyone for the input !!!

Offline NTD

« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2010, 04:22:28 pm »
This thread is proof that I would rather be lucky than good. I don't give my ipe any special treatment, and have never had a problem with a finish. I wonder if the super dry climate helps. Try putting your Ipe in a hot box and getting it warm then applying the finish. Warm wood helps when applying most any finish or stain.

I'm thinking the super dry climate Justin because I haven't had any problems with Tru-Oil on Ipe either.

Nate
Nate Danforth

Rich Saffold

« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2010, 07:07:32 pm »
The humid regions have problems with finishes on Ipe and oily woods in general, and why I like using mineral oil as a base coat since it will dry on oily Ipe and then you can use anything you want over it.  When you rub it down good with a clean cloth after rubbing it in with your hands then its dry and you can add apply what you want with much better results...

Plus it looks real good by itself especially if you are going hunting ;)..

or use 3 coats of acetone first like Josh mentions...

Offline barebo

« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2010, 07:28:05 pm »