Author Topic: Inducing Reflex into and Osage Stave  (Read 3449 times)

Offline Et_tu_brute

Inducing Reflex into and Osage Stave
« on: December 10, 2009, 04:10:11 pm »
Hi Gents,

Well I've got a roughed out Osage stave that I'm ready to start tillering, it's 67" long and about 1.5" wide, I've got not weight goal in mind, but probably something around the 45# mark. I've never tried reflexing before, and it's something I want to do with this stave. I'm not after anything spectacular, just a few inches of reflex distributed evenly through the stave. What would be the best method to go about doing this? The bow will bend through the handle, not sure if that'll make any difference but just thought I'd mention.

Thanks in advance
Dave

Offline artcher1

Re: Inducing Reflex into and Osage Stave
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 04:37:05 pm »
What's your draw length Dave? ART

Offline Et_tu_brute

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 05:02:19 pm »
Hi Art, I draw approx 27.5". Cheers, Dave.

Offline artcher1

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2009, 05:46:46 pm »
That 1 1/2" width is probably going to be to wide for that length and draw weight IMO. With the bend-in-handle design you may want to go shorter in length. To help make your bow  more "shooter friendly", try reflexing your limbs from about mid-limb out.

Cutting you out a form (form should be narrower than your limbs) to the desired setback profile and heat bending is probably the easiest way to achieve what you want. Just give your form a little extra setback to allow for a little reflex you going to lose when you release your clamps. Now is good time to add the reflex since you at the floor tillering stage. Good luck. ART

Offline Et_tu_brute

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2009, 06:02:35 pm »
Thanks Art, I'll bring the width in to around 1 1/4". Looks like a trip to the woodyard is in order to get some material for a form! Would you use dry heat or steam for the reflex?

Offline artcher1