Author Topic: Shooting off your Hand  (Read 10466 times)

Offline artcher1

Re: Shooting off your Hand
« Reply #30 on: December 09, 2009, 05:38:28 pm »
Well ...I guess that I have been doing something wrong for 20+ years then....Because I have always gotten nicks and cuts from Natural Turkey feathers....if they are not trimmed just right....Thats why I won't shoot anyone Else's Arrow any more.....

Would you not consider rough fletching a flawed component? ???  ART

Offline AllanM

« Reply #31 on: December 09, 2009, 06:30:03 pm »
hey Del

Is Allan that lefty guy?  I probly asked you this before, but are you anywhere near York?

Hi Radius, Yep, I'm the lefty that Del made the yew bow for. Been having a lot of fun with it, shoots fast and true! Del and I live just north of London, a good couple of hundred miles from York. Do you have connections with York? cheers, Allan
I've got a luverly bunch of coconuts

Offline markinengland

« Reply #32 on: December 09, 2009, 06:58:25 pm »
In my personal opinion a glove for the bow hand really isn't needed. I have never used one in more than 40 years archery. I only had a problem when I thought that the arrows should be 90 degrees to the string rather than slightly above this point.

If you bow hand is in the right place in relation to the arrow nock point then the fletch will never touch your hand.

If you hand it too high or your nocking point is too low or your shafts size varies a lot then maybe you will be cut by flatchings.

If the setup is wrong enough to need a glove it is quite likely that you won't be getting good arrow flight anyway. A glove could just allow this problem to get worse.

Offline islandpiper

• "Just one more bow, OK?"
« Reply #33 on: December 09, 2009, 08:43:05 pm »