Author Topic: What about an osage yumi? (Pic Added)  (Read 3414 times)

Offline Aries

What about an osage yumi? (Pic Added)
« on: November 04, 2009, 03:44:49 pm »
Hey guys i was curious about making a osage yumi stlye self bow?  How do you think a single piece of wood would handle that profile? And would a sized down version likely preform much better at around 50-60# at 28"?  I wouldnt hate tryin this out cause i love the style but am still not much for laminating ::)  Ty
« Last Edit: November 06, 2009, 12:42:22 am by Aries »
"If the only tool you have is a hammer,
                   you tend to see every problem as a nail."
                               ~Abraham Maslow

Offline RyanY

Re: What about a osage yumi?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 04:04:50 pm »
I have no experience with making yumi bows but because the design is usually much longer than a normal bow I imagine that while it could handle the style, osage is too heavy for the design and will cause the outer part of the top limb to be slow and if made to be light enough will be unstable. But if you made a scaled down version I'm sure that it would be an excellent bow.

Offline Aries

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2009, 04:10:20 pm »
That was my reasoning as well. I have no real experience making the yumi stlye and havent read much bout them either. what kind of lengths and widths do yall think would be optimum, supposing i was using a clean, quality piece of osage? also general ideas of where to heat bend in the points for recurves and reflexes would be very helpful too.  ANY input would be great, thanks!!
« Last Edit: November 04, 2009, 04:54:46 pm by Aries »
                               ~Abraham Maslow

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2009, 06:57:36 pm »
A Japanese yumi wouldn't be a yumi, if it was made of osage.

Offline RyanY

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2009, 07:06:17 pm »