Author Topic: Let Me Ask A Stupid Question About Platforms...  (Read 2653 times)

CodyCoyote

Let Me Ask A Stupid Question About Platforms...
« on: October 14, 2009, 08:55:32 pm »
Well i dont know where to start, im trying this knapping thing but im breaking everything I try. What is a platform? where do I flake off of it and how do I make one? Im know this is a stupid question but help would be nice

Offline criverkat

• David Hilborn
Re: Let Me Ask A Stupid Question About Platforms...
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 09:08:10 pm »
check out youyube there are a lot of good videos that should help you out
build a bow build a arrow Knapp some flint cook some rock now thats fun

Offline nugget

• I see, I hunt, I shoot, I eat
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 09:15:57 pm »
I am still learning myself. Watch the knapping videos on you tube. They will get you going in the right direction. Of course keep on chipin.
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....WOW WHAT A RIDE!!

Offline Bill Skinner

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 09:35:16 pm »
A platform is a spot you are planning to hit.  It should be below the center line of the rock.  It should be ground with an abrading stone to thicken the edge to prevent the edge from crumbling.  A good trick is when grinding your edge, grind a flat spot at 90 degrees to angle of the swing on your platform.  It doesn't have to be large, just big enough so you can see it clearly.   This give you a sturdy platform and a place to hit.  You are probably breaking stuff because you are hitting about 1/8" off.  Usually high.  I have seen James Parker, Woody Blackwell, Jim Redfern and many other expert knappers break stuff.  It Happens, but the more you pratice, the fewer you will break.  Bill

Offline leapingbare

• http://www.flintknappers.com/jessewright/