Author Topic: Pyramid bow  (Read 8328 times)

Offline TBod

Pyramid bow
« on: September 18, 2009, 03:50:24 pm »
Here's my second attempt at a pyramid or close to pyramid bow. The first broke.. It's 63" ntn 40# 28". It's from Maple (Swedish). Stringfollow is low maybe 1,5" and overnight 0,5". This particular piece is not very dense I guess it's about 45 SG, or under average at lest.

The really cool thing is that unbraced it has a serious twist and when drawn it sort of untwist. I usually get the opposite.. I tried to follow the grain when roughing out,and hence the twist when unbraced.

Pic 2 The back is covered with drying cracks. I put a layer of TB3 mixed with water on the back. The cracks closed and push out a drop a glue. Looks funny!

Pic 3 It's not really a selfbow, more of a laminate bow by accident :D. One big piece and a tiny piece of wood glued on the belly since I as always are a bit rough roughing out..

It feels really powerful shooting. But I am an extreme beginner at shooting..

Pic 1 How about that tiller, is it correct for a pyramid bow?

Thanks for looking!

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: September 18, 2009, 05:01:49 pm by TBod »

Offline Kent D.

Re: Pyramid bow
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2009, 04:40:17 pm »
I like it.  Looks great.

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2009, 05:02:31 pm »
Good looking bow man!  I think I would actually flip the bow over and use the bottom as the top and the top as the bottom because the bottom limb looks to be bending more.  Just a personal preference though...  Tiller looks great!   Good Work!   :)  -josh
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline TBod

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2009, 05:13:21 pm »
Yeah! I agree on the bottom limb. Thats the one with natural reflex, so it should be better for upper limb.