Author Topic: First post, first bow  (Read 5303 times)

Offline stonebender

First post, first bow
« on: September 12, 2009, 07:35:28 pm »
Hey guys.  I've been reading this forum and other sites as a guest for a few months now.  I have always wanted to make my own bow but never got around to it until a few weeks ago.  Reading this forum really gave me a can do attitude about it all.  As this was my first attempt I decided to keep it as simple as possible, red oak 1x2 from HD and I backed it with a thin strip of white oak from a hardwood store.  The string is B50 flemish.  Wrapped the handle with some suede, tied with goat leather thread.  It is 70" nock to nock.  About 40# at 28".  I wanted to keep the draw weight light because I am very new to bows in general, in fact this is the first one I own!  Now my problem is that I want to build more bows.  Next I want to do one more oak board bow to hone my tillering skills, then I want to move on to some true wood staves, longbows, warbows...  Jason     

Online Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: First post, first bow
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2009, 08:04:23 pm »
Hey that's a great start...ha, ha ...you are ours now...you can never go back... >:D
So many bows to build...
<exit screen left cackling wildly>
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2009, 08:21:47 pm »
First of all, welcome to PA Jason, and to the wonderful world of archery!  8)
   I commend you on your first bow and your attitude towards learning to tiller properly first!
Your limbs are bending nicely and overall you did an excellent job on your first bow. You will fit right in around here.  ;)