Author Topic: A question of steels  (Read 5646 times)

Offline KShip85

A question of steels
« on: September 06, 2009, 11:13:25 am »
I'm just getting into bladesmithing, which is something I have wanted to do for awhile. I've mostly been working on stock removeal projects from saw blades and lawnmower blades but am wanting to try some forging soon. I've been saving up scrap steel that I come across and have come across an old jackhammer chisel and two blades from an industrial size wood chipper. I'm wanting to try a sword blade and am wondering if either of these will work better than the other for doing so. I'd most likely use the shaft of the chisel because I have been using it as a wedge for spliting logs which it works wonderfully for. The chipper blades are probably about an inch or so thick and maybe 18 inches wide by 9 or 10 inches tall. On those I'd most likely use a cut off saw and take chunks off the blades to forge. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Kip
Kip Shipley    Bloomington, IN

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: A question of steels
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2009, 11:17:01 am »
I'm not a blacksmith or metallurgist but I believe it would depend on the make up of the steel.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline KShip85

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2009, 12:02:51 pm »
Yeah,  Pat, I think you are right.  I guess my question really is has anyone tried working with similar pieces of steel.  The chisel is super hard and has stood up to a beating from a sledge when I have used it as a wedge for splitting.  I would think simply from the nature of their work both chipper blades and jackhammer chisels ought to be some tough steel.  Is there a way I can find out exactly what alloy of steel these two types are?

Kip

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 12:14:02 pm »