Author Topic: Ipe backings  (Read 2673 times)

Offline NTD

Ipe backings
« on: August 26, 2009, 01:16:14 am »
I did a search first before posting this but if it is covered elsewhere please let me know. 

I have a nice local source for Ipe and would like to work with it but I rarely ever see someone make it without a boo or hickory backing.  I don't have the tools or the kind of shop needed to do boo or hickory backings.  Can this wood be used unbacked or alternate backings (rawhide, fiber etc)

Also I suppose I should have intro'd myself before asking a bunch of questions.  My name's Nate Danforth I live in Tucson, Az. originally from Aroostook county, ME.  I made my first bow out of ash with the help of TBB1 11 years ago the summer between freshman and sophmore year.  I made a few more some worked some exploded during tillering.  I continued making some off and on until I graduated high school.  After 7 years I got the itch again and have made 2 this year both red oak board bows.  I'm working on an impossible pine bow right now. :)

Besides archery I'm a reptile enthusiast (I keep and breed a large assortment of snakes, please don't contact me for bow backs hahahaha)  I also spend much of my fall mornings hunting coyotes and bobcats.  If anyone is in my area and would like a hunting buddy let me know.  I also have a passion for dogs and dog sports I am currently training a 6 month old belgian malinois for schutzhund and mondioring.   Glad to be on this forum and look forward to gleaning some wisdom from the many accomplished Bowyers here.  One thing I appreaite about this forum is the friendly nature shown to newbs.  It's refreshing.

Nate Danforth

Nate Danforth

Offline medicinewheel

Re: Ipe backings
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 02:58:06 am »
...backing with fiber? ....you mean.... G L A S fiber??  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D

Just kidding...