Author Topic: When to apply rawhide?  (Read 2936 times)

radius

When to apply rawhide?
« on: August 13, 2009, 08:38:34 pm »
Hey guys, after all the effort i went through to bring home this load of yew with rotten sapwood, i don't wanna turf it, but i have to dig an inch past the bark to get to useable wood.  I've made 2 bows from it so far, and both have broken.  I guess i should put rawhide on there, since Gordon tells me silk is not strong enough a backing...but i've never done this before and i wonder:

Can i put the rawhide on after the thing is floor-tillered?  Seems like a risk to  leave it until the bow is fully bending, because then it might just break. 

If i do it this way, how long after the rawhide goes on do i have to wait before i'm able to tiller the bow?

Thanks

Offline woodstick

Re: When to apply rawhide?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 09:37:53 pm »
i use rawhide alot and i put it on when i get it bending a little bit. and i wrap it let it dry for about 24 hrs unwrap  it let dry for another 24 then go to town on it.
a drawn bow is a stick 9/10 broken

Offline Gordon

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2009, 10:12:13 pm »
Do what woodstick said.
Gordon

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2009, 08:16:13 am »
Thats what I do also. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2009, 08:28:57 am »
I put it on after long string tillering and before stringing it with the short string. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline adb

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2009, 12:28:46 pm »
I apply my rawhide a little later, usually after first low brace. It's a fair bit of work to apply, and I want to know that the stave is going to hold together before I go through the trouble. I think of rawhide backing as an insurance policy on an otherwise sturdy foundation.