Author Topic: ERC  (Read 2960 times)

Offline venisonburger

ERC
« on: July 12, 2009, 01:14:16 am »
Well, I roughed out an ERC bow, currently it's 2in wide for most of the length, nocks are around 1/2 inch right now it's 62in long, bend through the handle, I took the sapwood down to a thin 16th of an inch, rounded the belly and plan on putting rawhide on when I am done getting the deflex out and some reflex in. I guess my question is, should I leave the thin layer of sapwood on or just remove it completely, there are already spots where the heartwood is coming through. It wasn't a good candidate for leaving unbacked since the sapwood had worms burrowed into it. I'm shooting for 45 to 50 pounds.
this is my first attempt at ERC so any info would be appreciated
VB

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: ERC
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 01:49:17 am »
If you are going to back with rawhide it doesn't matter whether it has sapwood on it or not. ERC sapwood by itself makes a good bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline nugget

• I see, I hunt, I shoot, I eat
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 08:20:28 am »
I would leave the sap wood. It is a personal preference. I think it makes a nice contrast in color and the sap wood is beter in compression. Would love to see pics
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....WOW WHAT A RIDE!!

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2009, 09:17:00 am »
TJ, you mean the sapwood is better in tension? ;)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline venisonburger

« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2009, 10:39:30 am »