Author Topic: tillering problems  (Read 2444 times)

Offline luke the drifter

tillering problems
« on: July 14, 2009, 11:18:29 pm »
this is the sitauation.  i tiller a bow perfectly to brace height.  the limbs bend evenly and everything.  when i go to to put a tillering string on it for the final tillering, the limbs do not bend evenly after i put the string on.  either one limb is totally out of whack and to the point of becoming kindling or some other problem has occured.  is it the wood, the string itself, the way i tiller the stave, the moisture content of the wood, etc..  i am unfortunately too much of a perfectionist.  the least little thing wrong and it is kindling.  i have been working the wood for a couple of years now.  any ideas or different ways of doing things that are suggested would be greatly appreciated.  perhaps i need a vacation.

Offline adb

Re: tillering problems
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2009, 12:50:14 am »
When you say "you tiller a bow perfectly to brace height," what do you mean? Are you using a long string? Or do you have the bow tillered to a low brace height with a short string? I'm also confused about what you're referring to as "a tillering string for final tiller." Can you explain, and maybe we can help.

As far as being a perfectionist... remember... perfection is the enemy of good. Know when to say when.

radius

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2009, 02:31:10 am »
correct me if i'm wrong, but i think the idea is to use a long string until  you get the desired draw weight (eg. 1,000,000#) at brace height (say, 7")...as soon as you can do that, you put on a string which is exactly the length of the bow, nock to nock.  This is the string you use until you get the bow to draw length and weight.