Author Topic: Plains Bow Question  (Read 3374 times)

AKAPK

Plains Bow Question
« on: June 09, 2009, 01:42:08 am »
This is the Osage  plains style Bow Ive been working on for a couple months.
 It's 48 NTN 42#@24" it has CowSinew and a Raw hide backing.
 I put the raw hide over the Sinew Because the Sinew Is a bit weak.
It shoots well at the !/1/4.
The upper bends a little more since I am drawing 1/1\4 up.
almost finished just need to sand it smoother and see if there is a design I can paint on the back.
The question is this type of Bow supposed to be a center shot or up the 1/1/4?
I just looked at Yew Archers  Plains Bow which looks really good.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline medicinewheel

Re: Plains Bow Question
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 02:28:40 am »

That's impressive!!!
Will you decorate it???
Frank from Germany...

AKAPK

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 05:13:21 am »
Frank, I'm trying to see what decoration would look good with the osage, got any ideas?I have some  but I always like more ideas.Phillip

nickf

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2009, 03:33:51 pm »
Nice! however that handle's been setbacked, I would try to get it bending a little more on your future plains bows, in order to reduce stacking by a little and prevent set. in addition, I've hear that plains bows were usually strung pretty low, more like 2"-3".  This aswell might improve the performance.

i've seen a beautyfull Choktaw (woodlands) bow, with black circles and dots... You can find it in TBB 2. Something similar would look great, though not historically correct (woodlands decoration on plains bow). As far as I remember Plains bows weren't painted that well, instead decorated with quillwork and sometimes snakeskin.

Nick

Offline uwe

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2009, 03:54:59 pm »