Author Topic: Wood bows, a little food for thought!  (Read 19785 times)

Offline Catahoula

Re: Wood bows, a little food for thought!
« Reply #30 on: March 17, 2009, 09:06:47 pm »
Hi,
Well you should have seen my beautiful RD osageboo...worked on it for hours and hours and hours and it sure was a beauty...of course, watched the video and read the books and it sure was pretty...until I attempted to tiller my beauty and it blew up!  If it had been a flute I coulda sold it for 300 smackers...but flutes don't blow up!  I am back to reading and slowly working a mulberry stave...trying to actually "see" the grain lines...sure am looking forward to the T. Classic so I can at least see some self bows and maybe even hold one to try to get a clue.  Have patience guys...total newby here...found my old Bear Grizzly recurve a few months back and found archery again and it sure is a pleasure...even have a very long half RD osage/boo purple heart handled back scratcher as a result of my wandering through archery world.  Maybe I will even learn how to make and arrow and do a little knapping too down the road. 

Newby Rand:-)
“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”― Mae West

Roger

« Reply #31 on: March 25, 2009, 08:38:31 pm »
Jawge told me somthing years ago when I first started trying to make selfbows. I have always passed these words on to others as they came and went..."listen with your eyes". The wood will tell you its limits if you just listen.

Stuck with me all these years...LOL

R.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #32 on: March 26, 2009, 01:39:46 pm »
Roger, Excellent words of wisdom from a guy that knows. ;)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Dave 55

« Reply #33 on: March 28, 2009, 02:03:37 pm »