Author Topic: Mountain Laurel ?  (Read 13149 times)

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
Re: Mountain Laurel ?
« Reply #30 on: March 30, 2009, 04:30:06 pm »
If it works for a bow, the name isn't important. But the species Kalmia latifolia (mountain laurel) is pretty much the same everywhere it grows, with the only differences being in size and slight variations in bloom color. For one thing, it's always a broad-leafed evergreen-there are big shiny green leaves on it all year long. It has big clusters of pink flowers in late spring. The bark is a lot darker with a different texture. It does grow in a couple counties in extreme southern Indiana that border Kentucky, but is absent through the rest of the state. Not trying to be a smart***, but I deal with native plants for a living, and see mountain laurel every day-it's one of the most common shrubs here in western NC. Here's mountain laurel:

[attachment deleted by admin]
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
« Reply #31 on: March 30, 2009, 04:42:45 pm »
Hillbilly's picture looks like the mountain laurel we have in Pa. We have thickets of it that you just about can't walk through in the mountains here. We put on deer drives through it in muzzleloader season.
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #32 on: March 30, 2009, 05:00:24 pm »
Ryan, that's what all the deer bed in here, too. A lot of our thickets are too thick to crawl through, it's easier to walk on top of them. Until you fall through and get skint all over. :)
Smoky Mountains, NC

Offline greenstick

« Reply #33 on: March 30, 2009, 05:29:04 pm »