Author Topic: Wood bows, a little food for thought!  (Read 19787 times)

Offline Jesse

Re: Wood bows, a little food for thought!
« Reply #15 on: March 08, 2009, 12:24:19 pm »
After further review my advice is to listen to their advice :)
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark

Offline sailordad

« Reply #16 on: March 08, 2009, 01:43:54 pm »
i have personally ruined my firts two attempts at making a wood bow,and then my 4th and 5 th,then my ninth
so its still happening to me,but with each succesfull bow that i make i learn something new,with every failure of a bow i gain more knowledge
than from the ones that actually work out.
i am still learning with every attempt at a bow,i am now learning how small tips can really be,how narrow and thin a handle can be and still stay ridgid.
etc.
i have taken advise from virtually everyone one here at one point or antoher in my bow building.
i have found somethings that worked wel for me, and i keep using that,other that didnt work so well for me,those i quite using.
i personally have nver read a book on making bows.all the knowledge i have came from this web site(and a few other sites that belong to members of this one)
and the good knowledgable folks on here that are willing to share their knowledge and experieinces on bow building.
i have only been doing this about 1. 5yrs now.last summer i tried my hand at a boo/hick r/d bow,the tillering didnt work out to well for me.it was beyond my abilities at
that point in time,i may give it a try again this summer,but if i do i wil once again ask for advise from everyone on here.only becuase i value the opinions of
the folks on here when it comes to bow building,well that and  i have seen the caliber of r/d bows some of the folks on here turn out.
so why wouldnt someone want to seek the advise of such talented individuals.