Author Topic: How soon do you go to a short tillering string?  (Read 7076 times)

Offline osage outlaw

How soon do you go to a short tillering string?
« on: May 07, 2009, 04:00:18 am »
I am a beginner trying to figure out this bow making stuff.  I have finished my first bow, but I made a typical rookie mistake and ended up with a 35# bow instead of 50# which was my goal.  I think I stayed on the long tiller string to long.  By the time I put a short string on it, it was already under weight.  I am hoping to sinew back it this fall and add a few pounds.  What can I expect to gain when I back it?  Thanks for any advice.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline DanaM

Re: How soon do you go to a short tillering string?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2009, 07:58:44 am »
I go to a low brace as soon as the limbs are bending evenly and I have the physical strength to brace it :)
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2009, 09:47:39 am »
As soon as possible. Also, my "long string" is as short as I can make it and still get it on the bow. I've whip-tillered a couple in the past by keeping them on the long string too long.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 09:57:08 am »
I do the same as Dana and Steve,You can add some weight by heat tempering the belly and flipping the tips ,maybe 10 lbs.Sinew will add weight for sure but don't know how much.If you are just starting I would go with heat and tips and try to do better on the second.Sinew is a lot of work