Author Topic: applying fabric backing  (Read 2415 times)

Offline sailordad

applying fabric backing
« on: January 24, 2009, 12:16:22 pm »
well i have never done this before.so i thought i would ask the experts right up front. ;D

i am going to the twin cities today.ther is this terrific fabric outlet store down ther.they have every thing from cloth to leather to furs.
so i am going to,hopefully,find some cool cloth to put on the back of some bows i am making.

now when i apply them do i put glue(tbIII) on the back of the bow and let it get tacky and soak the fabric.or do i just put glue on the back and place the fabric
and the wipe more glue on the fabric? ???

any help is always appreciated

peace,
                                                                                    tim
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline shamus

Re: applying fabric backing
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2009, 12:23:24 pm »
I put glue on the back, lay down the fabric, and smooth some glue on top of the backing. Then I bind down the tips to keep the fabric tight. Messy, but it works.

Offline JustAim

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2009, 12:26:50 pm »
apply a heavy dose of glue on the back and apply the cloth. gently push down use your finger and run it from one end to the other. when lm using linen, l like to stretch it alittle bit and clamp both ends so there isn't any air pockets and air bubbles. but then again you could always wait for the experts. :D

Offline wakosama

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2009, 02:27:55 pm »