Author Topic: Help! More questions from a newbie.  (Read 3533 times)

Offline stickthrower

Help! More questions from a newbie.
« on: December 28, 2008, 10:33:19 pm »
Okay, so I am very new at this.

I want to get started, as it has been suggested by many that I "jump in and start making sawdust".

Here is my problem.  I don't have many tools that I think I need to make a bow.   ??? ???

So the question:  What is the one or two tools that I can use to make a bow that won't set me back a bundle.  I don't have a bandsaw, and can't really afford to get one right now.  I had been thinking about getting a draw knife.  Is that a good tool to start with?  I am also going to be getting some rasps and files.  But as you can see, I am lost as to what other tools I need to pick up. 

Currently, the only tools I have for woodworking are some carving tools, a jigsaw, several different sanders, and a scroll saw.

Can I use the jigsaw to cut out the shape of the bow?

I am hoping to start work on this after the new year so that I have time to work on it this winter, and then maybe start shooting it this spring.

Thanks for any help!

Nathan
Sartell, Minnesota

Offline Hickoryswitch

Re: Help! More questions from a newbie.
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2008, 10:38:10 pm »
I've built several bows with drawknife and rasps. A scraper would also be a good investment. But I use my drawknife turned on edge as a scraper. You'll also need a chainsaw file to put in your string nocks.
Wayne Silverthorn

Offline sailordad

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2008, 10:42:52 pm »
personnaly i would start with a rasp,chansaw file for nocks,ans some cheap scraper.i go to hardware store and buy wall paper scraper blades,they work well for me.

on your first several bows i wouldnt even think of power tools,i have only been doing this for a year,i have a bandsaw that i recently bought.i practiced on scrap wood with it before i tried to run a stave thru it and glad i did,they take a little getting used too.