Author Topic: glue for hickory backing  (Read 3739 times)

Offline The Gopher

• Aim Small, Miss Small
glue for hickory backing
« on: December 27, 2008, 11:22:17 pm »
Hope everyone had a merry christmas. I'm planning on making a bow for my wife, about 35 to 40 pounds. i was thinking of hickory backed cherry. my question is this, for the hickory backing would i gain anything out of using smooth-on vs, TB2 or TB3? i've only used TB2 for risers in the past but i've never done a wood backing before. Happy new year, thanks
45# at 27"

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
Re: glue for hickory backing
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2008, 11:32:09 pm »
              My Personal Opinion on the Subject......why bother with the Messy Epoxies......All of the Titebond's work Great
As a species we're fundamentally insane. Put more than two of us in a room, we pick sides and start dreaming up ways to kill one another.Why do you think we invented politics and religion.
Think HEALTHCARE Is Expensive Now,Wait Till It's FREE
Do Or Do Not,There Is No TRY
2024...We Will Overcome

Offline The Gopher

• Aim Small, Miss Small
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 11:35:29 pm »
That's my feeling too, especially for a lighter weight bow. just wondering what everyone else thought, thanks.
45# at 27"

Offline NTProf

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2008, 01:25:09 am »
I glued a hickory backing on to Cherry with TB III. Several hundred shots and still holding strong!

Badbill

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2008, 02:10:22 am »
The one thing I like about TB3 over TB2 is that TB3 says water proof while TB2 says water resistant. All the backings I have glued on right now have great glue lines, almost unseeable. I've heard a lot of great things about Urac, but not so many about Smooth on.

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2008, 04:28:41 pm »