Author Topic: Questions about some trees!  (Read 3250 times)

Offline Trooper

Questions about some trees!
« on: January 14, 2009, 12:10:21 am »
Hello everyone,
I am new at this and need some opinions about some different types of wood. The work I do now provides me with opportunities to get my hands on some various types of wood. In the next day or so we Will be taking down a yellow poplar and was wondering if anyone has used this to make bows. We also take ALOT! of green ash and a number of sweet gums. I have read that the sweet gum has a tendencies to twist or warp. Any info on these would be helpful. Thanks!
House Springs Mo

roofus

Re: Questions about some trees!
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2009, 12:44:33 am »
Welcome to the site. I'm pretty new here too so I'm just passing on info I've heard here.

Woods that work. That I can remember.
Hickory
Oak
Maple
Hedge Apple (Osage)
Ipe
Yew
Bamboo
Walnut
Lemon Wood
Cherry

I think alot of people prefer Osage. I've built two red oak bows that work great and I'm working on Hickory currently.
And I know there are a ton more woods that work. The guys on this site are full of information, you will have more woods to choose from when they start chiming in.

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2009, 09:57:21 am »
Yellow poplar makes good arrows, not a good bow wood. Green ash will make a bow, but it's not nearly as good as white ash. I've seen some nice sweetgum bows-it apparantly makes a good bow but isn't used much, probably because it's so hard to split. Keep an eye out for osage orange, black locust, elm, black walnut, hackberry, flowering dogwood, persimmon, hickory, and white oak. There are a lot of good bow woods out there waiting to be discovered. In general, most of the better bow woods are hard, dense, and heavy.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Trooper