Author Topic: new to primitive archery and need help  (Read 5759 times)

Offline sessopantera

new to primitive archery and need help
« on: December 09, 2008, 09:05:00 pm »
I am new at making bows and have attempted 12 so far all unsucessful.  If anybody knows a bowyer in central missouri that could help me out I would greatly appreciate it.

Offline sailordad

Re: new to primitive archery and need help
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 09:21:40 pm »
well if youve tried that many, glad you found this place.

ask as many questions as you want,the people here are more than willing to help.
there are lots of very talented folks here,i am not one of them as i am still fairly new,been here about a year.
i have learned alot from the good folks here,we do love pictures they help alot to get the right advise.

do you have any pics you could post of the failed bows?

peace,
                                                                                     tim
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline islandpiper

• "Just one more bow, OK?"
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2008, 09:27:26 pm »
Boy, talk about STICK-TO-IVENESS,  you get the prize.   

Dang, I'd hate to break twelve in a row.   How are they breaking?  Where?  are you stressing them too early, i.e. before they are planed/filed/scraped and READY to bend? 

hmmm........stick with these guys, ask lots of questions and , yes, we like pics.  It's that or ten thousand more words.  Need info, though: what wood are you using?  length of bows?  pull weight you are aiming for? 

looking forward to getting you out shooting one of yours!!

piper

Offline 1/2primitive

• Bible believing Christian
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2008, 10:42:42 pm »
Like others have said, pictures would help a great deal, and more info in general.
I think Brian (Koan) lives in the area. I'm sure others on here are around there, I just don't know them. ;)
    Sean