Author Topic: Yew Selfbow - sinew backed "backless"  (Read 10455 times)

Offline armymedic.2

Re: Yew Selfbow - sinew backed "backless"
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2008, 09:31:24 am »
????????  COOOLLLLLLLL story now if you please...........
Some say freedom is free, well i have to disagree-
some say freedom is won, by the barrel of a gun.

Offline Cromm

« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2008, 11:05:48 am »
very nice work.......
Great Britain.
Home of the Longbowman.

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2008, 11:59:57 am »
This is one intriguing bow. Congrats! And bookmarked for December Self BOM, too.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Bowbound

« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2008, 12:25:23 pm »
Nice bow, does it shoot any quicker than most other bows? Its cool anyway though.

Offline majsnuff

• Shoot low boys the bad guys are riding ponies.
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2008, 11:50:25 am »
WAY COOL!!! Can't wait to hear the full story.
keep it simple
make it fun

Offline mitchman

« Reply #20 on: December 04, 2008, 07:10:58 pm »
thats freekin awesome. :o ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline ravenbeak

• Pacific Yew Wood
    • Ravenbeak Natureworks
« Reply #21 on: December 07, 2008, 03:29:04 pm »
Thanks everyone for the compliments.

I'm recovering from a knee surgery right now,  so i'm gonna keep this brief as the head is starting to spin.  The full story can wait.

Creek is 58" tip to tip.  It came from a blowdown,  so no yews were harmed in the making of this bow.  Tip overlays are yew,  with the sapwood matching up.  I tried the same thing with the handle,  with the heartwood matching up,  but Creek bends through the handle and my glue on popped off while stringing and I thought I broke it.  Glad I didn't.   This is the tightest growth rings i've ever seen.

This is bow number 5 i believe from this tree,  and we are just getting started.  To all of you who i sent wood out to,  this is the same tree.